Penicuik House and Estate – House Tours
May 6, 2018 @ 2:00 pm - May 12, 2018 @ 4:00 pm| Free
*PART OF MIDLOTHIAN HERITAGE WEEK**
Standing at the heart of one of Scotland’s most important 18th-century designed landscapes Penicuik House was designed and built in the 1760s and later extended with two large wings in 1857. The house quickly became established as one of the finest second-generation neo-Palladian houses in the country until a fire in 1899 devastated the roof and interiors and left the once-magnificent building in ruins.
In 1985, the Penicuik House Preservation Trust was created with the aim of preserving and allowing public access to the ruined house for the first time in over a century. Work began in 2007 and was completed in 2014, paving the way for a new project, launched in 2015, to focus on restoring the numerous fascinating built structures within the Designed Landscape.
As part of Midlothian Heritage Week, Penicuik House will be opening its doors to the public every day from 2-4pm with a guided tour at 2pm.
The Designed Landscape is open to visitors to enjoy responsibly at all times.
Blue Badge holders only are welcome to drive up into the heart of the Estate and park beside the house. Please contact the Ranger Service Office on 01968 670738 to arrange this in advance.